serious subject-skinpicker

  Stop. Stop stratching. Don’t pick. For someone who self-injures, this is SO HARD. I’m not proud of being a skinpicker. It’s a chronic issue that must be dealt with daily, like brushing your teeth. When a  sore itches, in spite of the anti-itch cream, I want to stratch.

 Distract. Typing is keeping my hands nice and busy, telling you about my condition. Raising awareness of it.

 What hurts more than unhealed, open sores is the scarring. My skin is COVERED with sores. Awareness of what this condition has done to me hurts. What hurts is that I’m colonized with mrsa now. It’s in my blood, even when I don’t have an active infection.

 I told my niece not to scratch bug bites and scratches. I was her age when I started picking. And I’m 32 now. Stopping skinpicking is a bitch. Learning new ways of coping is hard.

 I did it out of anger. I did it because talking to my family was unsafe. Every time I opened my mouth, I was called a liar. I disowned my mother’s side of the family. But I still hear that voice in my head.

I’m not supposed to be alive. Infections can sometimes kill you. If you need help with self-injury, call 911. Start journaling, even if it means locking your diary up and hiding the key. Don’t tell people where the key is.

About bookfreak0

i'm a writer who gets stuck in writing block so I thought this blog would help. will post book reviews soon!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

